They all ultimately do the same job – driving cars as fast as possible – but Formula One drivers wages are very, very different indeed. According to Spanish newspaper El Mundo Deportivo, Fernando Alonso is paid €35 million a year while his fellow countryman Roberto Merhi gets a more down-to-earth €50,000.

Unsurprisingly Ferrari and McLaren Honda fork out the most money for their world champion driver line-ups, paying €46 million and €45 million respectively.

Here’s a list of the drivers’ yearly wages:

Fernando Alonso McLaren €35m
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari €28m
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes €25m
Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari €18m
Nico Rosberg Mercedes €13.5m
Jenson Button McLaren €10m
Felipe Massa Williams €4m
Nico Hulkenberg Force India €4m
Sergio Perez Force India €4m
Romain Grosjean Lotus €4m
Pastor Maldonado Lotus €4m
Valtteri Bottas Williams €2m
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull €1.5m
Daniil Kvyat Red Bull €750,000
Max Verstappen Toro Rosso €250,000
Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso €250,000
Felipe Nasr Sauber €200,000
Marcus Ericsson Sauber €200,000
Will Stevens Manor €150,000
Roberto Merhi Manor €50,000

alonso wolf