Sainz Throws Shade At Russell After First-Lap Collision At US GP – WTF1

Sainz Throws Shade At Russell After First-Lap Collision At US GP

Carlos Sainz might have started on pole in Austin, but he didn’t stay there long. He didn’t get the best of launches from the P1 slot, and then George Russell made contact with the Ferrari and sent Carlos into a spin.

It caused a water leak and Carlos’ fourth DNF from the opening laps this season, after retiring very early on in Australia, Imola, Japan and now Austin.

“I didn’t get the best of starts,” Sainz is quoted as saying by Race Fans. “I think Max [Verstappen] got a really good one because mine, compared to the Mercs, wasn’t too bad.”

He continued by saying that P2 can often produce a better start than the P1 slot before describing the first-lap incident that resulted in a five-second penalty for Russell.

“I was in the middle of a fight with Max and suddenly someone, that wasn’t even in that fight, bumped into me. So I don’t think it needs too much explanation and images.

“For sure, a penalty was deserved. If he deserves five, ten or a stop-go, I’m not going to evaluate.”

“I think you’ve never seen this kind of incident in the top three positions because normally the top four drivers don’t do these kinds of mistakes,” Carlos added 👀

Video from the F1 account shows George paying Carlos a visit after the race, so we assume all is good between the two!

Was a five-second time penalty for Russell fair? Comment below.

9 thoughts on “Sainz Throws Shade At Russell After First-Lap Collision At US GP

  • disqus_WNe5xaR9AD says:

    Is not the first time Russell does this type of things, where he claims it was a racing incident or that other driver drove torwards him.

    Kinda lame because is always the same excuse. He never accepts when he is at fault (not even in Monza or Silverstone) whatever it happens.

    Good driver, not even race winner with an ego problem that allows him to do this and get away with.

    I read Will Buxton call “idiotic” to Lance for a more severe incident. But certanly, NEVER, anyone from UK will call like that one of their own drivers for ending another drivers race or for a similar crash, like what it happen on Silvertone last year with Ver vs. Ham.

    Even this article talks more about Sainz being mad than the one who crashed into him. British bias might be a meme in the podcast…until is not.

    • I just rewatched the race highlights for Monza because I couldn’t figure out what you referring to. There was no contact with Russell, so no idea what you mean there.

      I will freely admit, this is the second time we’ve seen this this season, with Austria. I think Silverstone was more his fault than other people’s but not to the degree where he was the cause of the incident and needed a penalty. I’m looking at previous penalty points though and I’m only seeing one for tagging Sainz in the sprint at Silverstone last year.

      He has to say that over the radio to have any chance at not taking a penalty. And every driver is going to avoid taking a penalty if they can. I can’t think of a time where a driver admitted fault over the radio.

      There is no incentive for a driver to admit fault, so very few ever do.

    • I’d say almost every driver denies blame after almost every crash. Though I should point out that Lewis admitted that his crash with Alonso in Spa was his fault.

  • ฬ๏ยtєг says:

    In COTA when you have a worse start than the one in P2 from pole then you have 2 options into turn 1:

    1. You try to stick it out around the outside and probably be (legally) pushed wide a bit on the exit, which compromises your run towards turn 2. This is what happened with Max and Lewis last year when Lewis had the better start.

    2. You try the switchback method that Carlos did, which is to steer in wide, cross behind the car on the inside and get a better exit.

    Charles actually performed that move successfully against Max later in the race, but on lap 1 it’s pretty risky as you have to brake a bit earlier to safely go behind the car on the inside and there are a lot of cars very close behind you on cold tires and full fuel tanks. Those cars often go into turn 1 2 or 3 cars wide so the cars on the inside cannot take the same tight line after the apex as the one coming from a wide entry. Thing is though that those drivers behind should anticipate that some cars in front may go for the switchback method and George didn’t.

    Long story short: Carlos made a risky gamble and George made a judgement mistake. Result: Carlos lost the gamble and George was rightfully punished .

  • Richard Jackson says:

    Worst for me is where a passing move can only work if the lead driver actively moves out of the way to avoid a crash.

    That’s just sloppy poor form and we’re seeing this sort of entitlement creeping in.

    Someone very sad their sure thing team move turned out to be crap in this new design era.

  • Aarius Bacchulum says:

    George is both a very quick and consistent driver, when he’s on his own. In a racing battle, though, he seems to have zero spacial awareness of others around him. We all see the reasons for the contacts but he is truly surprised, confirming his lack of spacial awareness. He completely T-boned Carlos, it should’ve been at least 10 seconds or even a drive-through.

Comments are closed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap