In an incredibly close season, where seven drivers could still mathematically win the title heading into the final race, Josef Newgarden became IndyCar Series champion in only his first year for the Penske team.

The 26-year-old becomes the first American to win the title since Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2012 and the youngest winner of the title since Scott Dixon way back in 2013.